The Bible and Judaism

The Christian Bible starts with the Jewish Bible — the Old Testament. But that's not where the Jewish Bible stops. Studies on the Tanakh as well as the Septuagint and the Talmud.

Day One: The Tanakh
The Jewish Bible (also called the Hebrew Bible or Tanakh) is another term for what Christians call the Old Testament portion of the Bible. More specifically, a 1917 English version of the Old Testament was called the Jewish Bible and was prepared by the Jewish Publication Society of America...
Read More

See Also: "What is the Midrash?"

Day Two: The Pentateuch
The Pentateuch is the first five books of the Bible that conservative Bible scholars believe were mostly written by Moses. Even though the books of the Pentateuch themselves do not clearly identify the author, there are many passages that attribute them to Moses...
Read More

See Also: "What is the Torah?"

Day Three: The Septuagint
The Septuagint (also known as the LXX) is a translation of the Hebrew Bible into the Greek language. The name "Septuagint" comes from the Latin word for seventy. The tradition is that 70 (or 72) Jewish scholars were the translators behind the Septuagint...
Read More

See Also: "The Septuagint What is it?"

Day Four: The Talmud
The word "Talmud" is a Hebrew word meaning "learning, instruction." The Talmud is a central text of mainstream Judaism and consists primarily of discussions and commentary on Jewish history, law (especially its practical application to life), customs and culture...
Read More

See Also: "What is the Jewish Talmud?"

Day Five: The Mishnah and midrash
The Mishnah is the oral law in Judaism, as opposed to the written Torah, or the Mosaic Law. The Mishnah was collected and committed to writing about AD 200 and forms part of the Talmud. A particular teaching within the Mishnah is called a midrash...
Read More

See Also: "What is the Mishnah?"

Image Credit: Themeplus; "Hebrew Tanakh 8"; Creative Commons

comments powered by Disqus
Published 1-29-16