Lenten Season

Lent is the days leading up to Easter Sunday. The days of lent are not universally celebrated but can serve to prepare our hearts for remembering Christ's death and resurrection.

Day One: Lent
Lent is a period of fasting, moderation, and self-denial traditionally observed by Catholics and some Protestant denominations. It begins with Ash Wednesday and ends with Easter Sunday...
Read More

Day Two: Fat Tuesday/Mardi Gras
Mardi Gras, which is French for "Fat Tuesday," is the last day of a season called "Carnival." The Carnival season is characterized by merrymaking, feasting, and dancing...
Read More

Day Three: Shrove Tuesday
Although far less widely known than Fat Tuesday/Mardi Gras, the Tuesday immediately before Ash Wednesday is also known as Shrove Tuesday. Ash Wednesday marks the beginning of Lent, which is sometimes referred to as "Shrovetide" in England...
Read More

Day Four: Ash Wednesday
Ash Wednesday is the first day of Lent. Its official name is "Day of Ashes," so called because of the practice of rubbing ashes on one's forehead in the sign of a cross...
Read More

Day Five: Passion Week/Holy Week
Passion Week (also known as Holy Week) is the time from Palm Sunday through Easter Sunday (Resurrection Sunday). Also included within Passion Week are Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, and Holy Saturday...
Read More

Day Six: Palm Sunday
Palm Sunday is the day we celebrate the triumphal entry of Jesus into Jerusalem, one week before His resurrection (Matthew 21:1–11). Palm Sunday marked the start of what is often called "Passion Week," the final seven days of Jesus' earthly ministry...
Read More

Day Seven: Holy Monday
In Christianity, Holy Monday is the last Monday prior to Easter Sunday; it is the second day of Holy Week after Palm Sunday. The Eastern Orthodox Church observes the day, typically marking it with Bible readings and certain hymns...
Read More

Day Eight: Holy Tuesday
In Christianity, Holy Tuesday is the last Tuesday prior to Easter Sunday; it is the third day of Holy Week after Palm Sunday and Holy Monday...
Read More

Day Nine: Spy Wednesday/Holy Wednesday
The day is sometimes called "Spy Wednesday" since it is traditionally thought of as the day Judas conspired with local authorities to betray Jesus (Matthew 26:14–16)...
Read More

Day Ten: Maundy Thursday
Maundy Thursday, also known as "Holy Thursday," is the Thursday of Passion Week, one day before Good Friday (the Friday before Easter). Maundy Thursday is the name given to the day on which Jesus celebrated the Passover with His disciples, known as the Last Supper...
Read More

Day Eleven: Good Friday/Holy Friday
Good Friday, also known as "Holy Friday," is the Friday immediately preceding Easter Sunday. It is celebrated traditionally as the day on which Jesus was crucified...
Read More

Day Twelve: Holy Saturday
Holy Saturday is the name given to the day between Good Friday and Easter Sunday. Some Christians recognize Holy Saturday, the seventh day of Holy Week, as the day on which Jesus "rested" from His work of providing salvation...
Read More

Day Thirteen: Easter Sunday
Most people understand that Easter Sunday has something to do with the resurrection of Jesus, but are confused as to how the resurrection is related to the Easter eggs and the Easter bunny...
Read More

Day Fourteen: Easter Monday
Easter Monday, also known as Bright Monday, Renewal Monday, Wet Monday, and Dyngus Day, is the Monday immediately after Easter Sunday...
Read More

Image Credit: StockSnap; Untitled; Creative Commons

comments powered by Disqus
Published 10-25-15